Wednesday, August 12, 2009

A Series of of Unfortunate Events

The Series of Unfortunate Events is, in my opinion, the children's best series ever written. Lemony Snicket is a wonderful writer. Just a glimpse at the back of the first book will inform you what funny, interesting, and exciting books the books in this series are. Here is the summary as it appears on the back of book #1, The Bad Beginning.

'Dear Reader,
I'm sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells the unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives of misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.
In this short book alone, the three young children encounter a greedy and repulsive villian, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, aplot to steal thier fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.
It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting down this at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.
With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket

The plot is a wonderful one. If you don't beleive me, watch the movie version below. The book is better and the movie only depicts three of the books in the thirteen book series, but here it is.

I am sorry that the movie cut off at the end, but here is pretty much what happens:
  1. Mr. Poe takes the children back to thier house's ruins.
  2. The letter that got lost in the mail arrives (mentioned earlier)
  3. Violet reads the letter (while crying)
  4. They get back in the car and the narrator says that, because they have each other, they are very fortunate indeed.
  5. The End!

No comments:

Post a Comment